45 Finalists Announced for SAMNewslink.com 2018 Awards for Innovation and Dedication In Healthcare

Digital publication focused on skin and muscle health news and information announces 2018 nominees for Skin and Muscle Awards for Excellence. SAMNewslink.com, (SAM), has chosen 15 categories in healthcare to be recognized as part of the 2018 awards: skincare, infection prevention, pediatrics, service, products, technology, microbiome, mental health, geriatrics, surgery, women’s health, immunotherapy, excellence in nursing, cancer, and muscle health.

Nominees in each of the categories have proven innovation or dedicated service in their respective fields. “It is an honor to award prestigious honors creating awareness and revolutionary treatment and advancements in skin and muscle healthcare. SAM received many nominations, however we believe this list is comprehensive of dedication, determination, and distinction, “ expressed SAM Editor, Mandy Murry.


Nominees include:


Devon Demyanovich, Duke University Wrestling

Lexli Skincare – Acne Treatment

Safe Haven Linens

Infection Prevention:

César de la Fuente, PhD and Timothy K. Lu, MD PhD, MIT

Dr. William Marston, UNC Chapel Hil

Human Cell Atlas, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative


Dr. Gary Darmstadt, Stanford

St. Jude Children Research Hospital


Textile and Apparel, Technology and Management Department, North Carolina State University

Applied VR, CEO Mathew Stoudt

Thrive Global & Arianna Huffington


Mother Dirt Mist

Lexli Sunscreen

Protalus Insoles



Sawswait Chatterjee, PhD, City of Hope

3D Skin Printer, University of Toronto

Theraoptix, Harvard Medical School Researchers


Dr. Peter M. Elias and Dr. Mary L. Williams



Mental Health:

Intermountain Healthcare



Genesis Healthcare

Aspire Health

AliveCor, EKG app


Hugh Herr, Timothy Lu, & Cesar de la Fuente, MIT

HoloLens Goggles, Microsoft

Andrew Cutler MD & Shervin Rahimpour MD, Duke University Department of Neurosurgery

TransMedics Organ Care System (OCS), The University of Minnesota

Women’s Health:

HPV Vaccine, Merck

Endometriosis Screening, Predictive Biotech

EVOFEM Biosciences


Terence Rhodes, MD, PhD Intermountain Precision Genomics

Shield Biotech


Excellence in Nursing:

Alicia Taylor RN, BSN, Marquette Manor, Indianapolis, IN

Agnes Unciano RN, Infection Control Manager, The Plaza Rehab and Nursing Center, Bronx, NY

Laurie Wiegref LVN, CWS, WCC, SWOC, Windsor Care Consultant Windsor Healthcare, Los Angeles, CA


Deanna Kepka & Intermountain HPV Coalition, Huntsman Cancer Institute

Dr. Renier Brentjens, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Centre

Stanford University School of Medicine

Muscle Health:

Boo Schexnayder, Sacspeed.com

Dr. Mike Stone, Eastern Tennessee State University

Theraworx Relief, Avadim Health


Winners will be announced October 15, 2018. Congratulations to all the finalist nominees.

About SAMNewslink.com: SAM is the online Skin and Muscle Health News and Information Source.